When you check out your Instagram account, it will remember the last time you were active and will inform other users when you were last in the app. Followers and people who have direct conversations with you can also see when you were last active on Instagram.
However, if you’re not interested in seeing the activity status of your friends and you don’t want your friends to see yours, then you can simply turn it off.
Fortunately, this step-by-step guide will help you turn off your activity status on Instagram.
How does this feature work?
The activity status feature shows people who have sent you a DM whether you are currently active on Instagram or when you were last online.
Your status is only shown to people that you follow. If someone follows you but you don’t follow them back, they won’t be able to see it. The same goes for your friends, you can’t see when they were last online if they don’t follow you back.
Remember, this feature only shows your last accessed date and not the posts that you’ve liked or commented on.
Should you keep the activity status on or off?
If you keep it on, this feature will allow you to keep track of the messages of your friends without feeling like you’re intruding. It also works by sending funny memes at the right moment.
Turning it off allows you to enjoy the privacy of Instagram without anyone knowing that you’re using it. However, the downside is that you won’t be able to see anyone else’s activity status on the platform once you turn it off.
So if you want to keep your privacy on the platform and answer your DMs at your leisure without anyone knowing if you’re online or not, follow these steps to turn the activity status off.
How to turn it off?
- Open up the Instagram application
- Go to settings by tapping on the menu icon on the top right-hand corner.
- Click privacy and then tap on the activity status under the Interactions heading.
- Toggle off the activity status.